Pinterest is no less popular than other social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc., as so, it carries the same bug as those other social media platforms as well: it is highly addictive.
Especially, given the fact of how helpful the platform of Pinterest is, offering its users limitless ideas related to whatever they search for or would like to find and also pin those ideas to separate collections so that they can revisit them whenever they like and consequently be able to use and implement those ideas from all over the vast internet in a really convenient manner in one commonplace.
Due to its many useful features that it offers its users, the downside that it brings is that it is highly addictive, to the end that users can start misusing it, as is with all addictions. Naturally, in a situation like this, it is understandable that you may want to take a break.
We’ve broken up how you can do that, whether you want to deactivate your account, take a small break and come back after some time, or if you want to permanently delete it.
How To Deactivate Your Pinterest Account
If you’re looking to take a small break from using your favorite pinning website, you can follow the following steps to deactivate your account:
- Go on the Pinterest website
- Go to the top and click there where the Pinterest logo would be
- You’ll see the option, “Edit Settings”, click on that option
- On the left side of the screen you’ll see the option “Account Settings”, so you can proceed to click on that option
- Locate the subheading that will say “Account Changes”
- Under that subheading of account changes you will find the option “deactivate account”
- Go ahead and click on that option
- You will be prompted to mention why you want to take a break from Pinterest
- After giving your answer, the successful deactivation of your Pinterest account will be complete
After deactivating your Pinterest account, your profile as well as your boards will no longer be visible. To double-check this, you can visit the URL of your profile.
If you log into your account to check whether the deactivation was successful, that will result in reactivating it. Another thing to keep in mind is that after deactivating you cannot use the same email address or username to create another account on Pinterest.
Whenever you want the break to be over and get back to using Pinterest, all you have to do is log in with your username and password just like you would normally, and your account will be reactivated.
How To Delete Pinterest Account Permanently
If you’re ready to say goodbye to your Pinterest account, you can also easily permanently delete your account by following the below mentioned simple steps:
- Similar to the deactivation manual, you will first have to go to the Pinterest website and click at the top where the logo of Pinterest is
- Proceed to select the option “Edit Settings”
- After you spot the option, “Account Settings”, click on that option. It will appear on the left side of the screen.
- Then you should be able to locate the option “Delete Account”, upon clicking on which will direct you to a prompt about why you want to delete your account
- After you answer the question of why you’re deleting your Pinterest account, just click on Next
- Then click on “Send Email”
- After clicking on that, you can confirm the email address that is linked to your Pinterest account, so as to permanently delete your account on Pinterest.
After you do this, your account will be deactivated for 14 days and if you don’t log back in, then after those 14 days are up, your account will successfully be permanently deleted.